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ATHLETIC TRAINER'S SECTION

Proposed Rules Changes

Each year, the Athletic Trainers Section reviews its rules to determine if any changes are needed to
reflect current practice. The rule review process starts during the summer when the Section makes

an initial determination of any potential changes. The Section then seeks feedback on the initial
language before formally filing the changes. The Section plans on holding a public hearing on the
proposed rules changes at its March 4, 2009 meeting, with the goal of new language going into effect
on May 1, 2009.

The current proposed changes include adding provisions related to sexual boundary violations to the
code of ethics (4755-41-01) and making significant changes to the continuing education rule (4755-
45-01), including reducing the number of hours of continuing education required to renew an Ohio
athletic training license from 50 hours to 25 hours.

Online Applications for Initial Licensure

In 2005, the Board implemented online license renewals through the Ohio e-License Center. The
opportunity to renew online and pay with a credit card has been well received by licensees, with over
90% of individuals electing to use the online system. In light of the success of online renewals, the
Board recently developed a method for individuals seeking an initial Ohio license to use the Ohio e-
License Center to apply online and pay with a credit card.

Individuals seeking to apply for their Ohio athletic trainer’s license online should go to the Ohio e-
License Center (https://license.ohio.gov) and select the Application Site option.

Join the Listserv

To allow for a quick and inexpensive - : —
mechanism to notify licensees and other Inside this edition
interested parties of news and other

" : Event Approval Page 2
regulatory issues, the Board established a PP J
listserv. To joint to listserv, send an email to Impact of Physical Therapy on Role of
board@otptat.ohio.gov. In the body of the “Other Licensed Personnel Page 3
email, please state that you'd like to join the
listserv and also indicate which list(s) you'd Board Sponsored Continuing Education Page 4
like to join. The Board maintains a separate )
list for each of the three professions. License Renewal Page 6
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Event Approval Requirement

Prior to April 2007, a non-Ohio licensed
athletic trainer could provide athletic training
services in Ohio for up to 90 days without
obtaining an Ohio license. Although the intent
for this provision was for visiting athletic
trainers, many individuals in the border states
were practicing in Ohio on Ohio residents for
less than 90 days without obtaining an Ohio
license.
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As a result, the law was changed in April
2007 to clarify the provisions governing the
practice of athletic training without an Ohio
license. Section 4755.65 (A)(4) of the Revised
Code provides an exemption for individuals
practicing athletic training while traveling
with a visiting team from outside Ohio for
the purpose of providing athletic training to
the visiting team’s athletes. In addition, the
Athletic Trainers Section adopted the following
rule that authorizes non-Ohio licensed
athletic trainers to practice in Ohio if they are
providing services to participants at an event
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approved by the Ohio Athletic Trainers Section.

4755-43-11 Approval of an event

(A) Pursuant to division (A)(4) of section
4755.65 of the Revised Code, an organizer of
an event at which athletic trainers not licensed
in Ohio will be performing athletic training
services, as defined in 4755.60 of the Revised
Code, shall apply to the athletic trainers
section to have the event approved.

(B) The event organizer or medical director
shall:

(1) Submit a written request for approval
no later than 30 days prior to the date of the
event;

(2) Submit to the section a list of all
athletic trainers not licensed in Ohio that will
be providing athletic training services at the
event. The list shall contain the license number
of a current, valid non-Ohio athletic training
license. If the individual is from a state where
athletic trainers are not licensed, the list shall
contain the current, valid certification number
issued by the board of certification.

Therefore, if your school/employer/

organization plans on organizing an event at which
non-Ohio licensed athletic trainers will be providing
services, you will need to have the event approved in
accordance with rule 4755-43-11 of the Administrative
Code. The event approval application can be
downloaded from the Board’s website (http://otptat.
ohio.gov).

Athletic Training License

Requirement

At the beginning of the year, the following letter

was mailed to all public school districts in Ohio to
inform them of changes made to the Athletic Training
Practice Act that were contained in H.B. 403.

I am writing to you to inform you of recent
changes in the Ohio Athletic Training Practice
Act, under which only licensed athletic trainers
may engage in the practice of athletic training
in Ohio.

Under section 4755.62 (A) of the Ohio Revised
Code, “no person shall claim to the public to be
an athletic trainer or imply by words, actions,
or letters that the person is an athletic trainer
unless the person is licensed as an athletic
trainer, or otherwise engage in the practice
of athletic training, pursuant to this chapter.”
Please note that Ohio does not have temporary
licenses. Therefore, individuals may not legally
practice athletic training in Ohio until the Board
issues an Ohio license.

It is important to also remind licensees that you may

not legally practice athletic training in the State of

Ohio without a license, regardless of your certification.

The following is a statement from the FAQs for State

Regulation on the Board of Certification’s website:
“Question: What is the difference between a
state license and the BOC certification?

Answer: State law delineates the scope of
practice and requirements for the legal practice
of athletic training. Scope of practice can vary
from state to state. State requlation always
takes precedence over certification standards.”
(emphasis added)




Impact of Physical Therapy Rules on

Role of “Other Licensed Personnel”

On May 1, 2008, the Physical Therapy Section
amended its supervision and delegation rules
contained in Chapter 4755-27 of the Ohio
Administrative Code. Some of these changes
appeared to negatively impact athletic trainers who
work in the clinical setting. It is first important to
differentiate the various roles that an athletic trainer
could have in the clinic setting. If an athletic trainer
receives a referral from one of the licensed healthcare
professionals specified in section 4755.60 (A) of the
Revised Code, the athletic trainer must perform an
injury assessment and determine the athletic training
plan of care.

Under an athletic training referral, including a referral
by a physical therapist, the athletic trainer functions
independently and is responsible for documentation.
The revised physical therapy rules have no impact

on the practice of athletic training. The rules do,
however, impact the practice of physical therapy.
When an athletic trainer provides services based on

a physical therapist’s delegation, the athletic trainer
is not practicing athletic training. Instead, they are
functioning as “other licensed personnel” and provide
services pursuant to the physical therapy plan of care.
Since the services provided by the athletic trainer

in this role are part of the physical therapy plan,

the athletic trainer is subject to the laws and rules
governing the practice of physical therapy.

Within the practice of physical therapy, it is correct
that documentation by “other licensed personnel” is
restricted to an accounting of the activities provided.
Such accounting is intended to include patient
comments during those activities and a description of
the patient’s response or ability/inability to perform
specific components of the program. However, any
interpretation of that response, assessment of a
patient’s progress, and prognosis or plan revision
must be documented by the physical therapist.

In accordance with rule 4755-27-03 (D) of the Ohio
Administrative Code, a physical therapist may choose
to refer a patient to another discipline for services.
This referral shall be documented by the physical
therapist in the medical record to clearly demonstrate
a referral for that service and therefore, the referral
will not be a delegation of tasks or duties of physical
therapy. As noted above, if the referral is made, the
athletic trainer would be practicing athletic training
and would be subject to the Ohio Athletic Training
Practice Act.
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Performance-Enhancing
Contact Lenses: Helpful or

Health Hazard?

By Nancy Manns, RN, MS, CNS
Executive Director

Ohio Optical Dispensers Board

In 2004 the FDA approved performance-
enhancing tinted soft contact lenses that

are designed for use by athletes engaging in
outdoor sports. The lenses selectively filter
blue and red wavelengths and reduces glare,
providing the wearer with enhanced clarity of
vision. Different colored lenses are used for
different sports. For example, amber lenses
absorb yellow wavelengths and allow the
wearer to see the ball better in fast moving
sports such as baseball, softball, soccer, tennis
and football. The lenses reduce reflection
and glare and the elimination of frames
which can make sunglasses undesirable
during active sports and makes these lenses
attractive to sport participants. Bausch and
Lomb, manufacturer of the MaxSight lenses,
claim that since the lenses act like sunglasses,
the contacts will help to prevent macular
degeneration and cataracts, which are caused
by UV damage.

So what is the health hazard? Market
surveys indicate that 30-50 percent of the
performance enhancing contact lenses sold
are those that have no corrective power,
known as plano lenses. Just like every other
contact lens, the performance-enhancing
lenses are considered to be medical devices
by the FDA and require a prescription from
an optometrist or physician for purchase. It
has been anticipated that the performance-
enhancing lenses will attract new wearers
in the teenage and young adult crowd,
particularly young males. The fear is that,
despite the availability of these lenses only
through licensed eye care professionals, the
non-corrective, plano lenses could pop up
in the over-the-counter black market such
as gas stations, beauty supply stores and
convenience shops. The over-the-counter
lenses purchased without proper fitting,
instructions for care, and follow-up evaluation
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by an eye care professional has led to blinding
infections from pseudomonas and other
serious infections, corneal lacerations that
can lead to blindness, and, in two known Ohio
cases, requiring hospitalization and the need
for emergency corneal transplants. Questions
then arise:
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Will wearers of the performance-enhancing
contact lenses practice sanitary lens
handling?

Will wearers of performance-enhancing
contact lenses be able to safely remove

and store the lenses in clean containers during
a sporting event?
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Will the wearers have back-up lenses
available?

Will the wearers have the appropriate cleaning
solutions and cases for storage?

There have already been reports of these
lenses being “over-worn,” cleaned with saliva,
or shared with friends. Wearers got into
trouble because they failed to treat the plano,
non-corrective contact lenses as seriously

as vision-correcting lenses. Dr. Thomas
Steinemann, Ophthalmologist at MetroHealth
Medical Center, Cleveland, has stated that
there have been reports of football team

trainers distributing these lenses to their team.

Itisillegal in the state of Ohio to sell or
dispense contact lenses without a valid
prescription. The Optical Dispensers Board is
the state agency responsible for monitoring
and discontinuing the illegal dispensing/
sales of contact lenses. The Board has issued
approximately thirty-five Cease and Desist
orders over the last two years to entities that
were illegally selling plano, decorative lenses.

DO NOT risk your eyesight by purchasing

or using any contact lenses, whether for
decorative purposes at Halloween or for
performance-enhancing for sporting events,
without a proper fit and evaluation by an eye
care professional.

DO notify the Optical Dispensers Board of locations
or individuals who are illegally distributing or selling
contact lenses. You can reach the Board at (614) 466-
9709 or by e-mail at odb@odb.ohio.gov. Names of
individuals reporting are kept confidential.

It is going to take a joint effort of many people in
order to get this illegal, unsafe practice to stop. The
Optical Dispensers Board asks that you help us in

this effort by notifying the Board when you find
unlicensed individuals dispensing and selling contact
lenses.
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Board Sponsored Continuing
Education Course

In April 2008, the Ohio Occupational Therapy,
Physical Therapy, and Athletic Trainers Board
sponsored its first continuing education activity

in Columbus. This free 2.0 contact hour session
included a general overview of the agency’s role
and functions. Following the completion of the
general information session, individuals attended
breakout sessions that were profession specific.
These breakout sessions addressed specific areas of
concern, trends in violations/discipline, recent laws
and rules changes, a group ethical exercise, and
frequently asked questions.

The second session was held in December in Findlay.
In 2009, the Board plans on holding two or three
additional sessions at different locations in the state,
including Akron in April.

%

Duty to Report

Many licensees may not be aware that rule
4755-41-01 (B)(2) requires them to report “any
conduct that they consider unethical, illegal, or
incompetent to the Athletic Trainers Section.” If
you are aware of any potential violations of the
Athletic Training Practice Act, please download
and submit the Complaint Form, which is available
on the Board’s website (http://otptat.ohio.gov).



Required Release of Personal
Information

All of the information in an individual’s licensure
file, except the Social Security Number, is a public
record under Ohio’s broad public records law.
Therefore, the Board must release the information
to anyone who submits a public records request.
Unfortunately, part of the requirement to hold

an Ohio license is to provide current mailing and
employment addresses, and current home and
employment phone numbers. If a licensee fails to
provide that information, the Board will not issue
or renew a license. Although we share licensees’

concerns about phone numbers and email addresses

being released to any party requesting a listing of
information, the Board is unable to remove mailing
addresses or phone numbers from our licensure
database.

The Board recommends that licensees contact their
State Senator and State Representative and ask
the legislature to change the public records laws.

A change in Ohio’s public records law would be

the only way the Board could legally not release
your address, phone number, or email address to a
public records requestor. The Board also suggests
that licensees register their phone number with
the National Do Not Call Registry (https://www.
donotcall.gov/default.aspx).
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Licensee Census

As of December 11, 2008 there are:

Athletic Trainers 1832
Physical Therapists 7035
Physical Therapist Assitants 5251
Occupational Therapists 4121
Occupational Therapists in Escrow 223
Occupational Therapy Assistants 2694

Occupational Therapy Assistants in Escrow 132
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Updating Your Contact
Information

Did you know that failure to notify the
Board of an address change won't just
lead to a delay in receiveing your renewal
application from the board, but itis also a
violation of the Ohio AT Practice Act. Rule
4755-44-01 of the Administrative Code
requires all licensees to notify the board
“in writing” of any change of name, place
of business or employment, or mailing
address within thirty days after the
change.”

Many licensees incorrectly assume that

notifying the post office of a new address is

sufficient. The post office will not forward
a renewal application to a new address.
It is relatively easy to noify the Board of
your new information. You can fax the
information to (614) 995-0816 or send

an email to board@otptat.ohio.gov. If
you have your UserID and password from
your online renewal, you can even log
into the Ohio e-License Center (https://
license.ohio.gov) and select the Update
Address Information option to make the
appropriate changes.

>

Enforcement Division

You can view the enforcement webpage
at http://otptat.ohio.gov. On the left hand

column select the link titled “Enforcement.”
From the Enforcement page you learn about

the complaint and investigative process,
review disciplinary actions taken by the
Section, and obtain a complaint form.
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License Renewal

Please note, all licenses issued for athletic
trainers must be renewed by September
30th of even-numbered years.
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Renewing your license online is the
preferred method. However, you can
request a paper renewal by contacting the
Board.

Common questions with online renewal.

Why is my phone number on the receipt
listed as (555)555-55552 This is a security
feature built in the system. The phone
numbers you entered are stored in the
system.
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What should | do if | am unable to update
my business address? If your business
name and address are not modifiable

in the renewal module, then email your
buisness address to the Board and the
staff update your file.

If you are having Browser issues: Check
your browser to see if you have enabled
the feature to accept cookies. You may
need to update your web browser.

Verification of Licensure

The Board receives many requests for verification of
an Ohio license to another state licensing board. To
officially verify your Ohio license to another entity,
you must submit a written request that includes the
following information:

1. Your name;
2. Your current mailing address;
3. Your daytime phone number;

4. Your Ohio license number and/or your Social
Security Number;

5.The mailing address of the entity requiring the
verification; and

6. The verification fee.

You may also send the Board a copy of the other
entity’s verification request form provided that it
includes your name and Ohio license number, and
you include the verification fee and a daytime phone
number.

The fee to officially verify your license to another
entity is $30 per request. Please make your money
order, cashier’s check, or business check payable

to “Treasurer State of Ohio” in the exact amount.
Personal check, credit cards, and/or cash will not be
accepted. Verification processing takes approximately
3 business days.

Please send the request and verification fee to:

License Verification Request
Ohio OTPTAT Board

77 S. High Street, 16th Floor
Columbus, OH 43215-6108

AT Section Members

Board Member City Term Expires*  TermA
Vincent O’Brien, Chair Columbus 2009 2nd
Rebekah Bower Centerville 2011 1st
Aaron Galpert Wadsworth 2010 1st
Brian Hortz Pataskala 2011 1st
Dr. Randall Wroble Powell 2010 1st

*All terms expire on August 27 of the designated year.

APursuant to ORC 4755.01, Board members shall not serve for more than three (3) consective terms.
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Are you Ready to Serve?

Have you ever wondered what goes on during a Athletic Trainer’s Section meeting? Do you ever
think that you might be able to contribute to the profession of physical therapy by serving as a
member of the regulatory board?
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The Governor is responsible for appointing all members of the Board. Members are appointed for
three year terms and may serve for up to three consecutive terms. There are approximately seven
meetings each year and members are reimbursed for their time and travel expenses.

To be eligible to serve on the Board, each applicant must hold a current Ohio athletic trainers
license and have been actively engaged in or associated with the practice of athletic training in
Ohio for at least five years immediately preceding the appointment.

If you are interested in submitting your name for consideration by the Governor, please download
the application from the Boards and Commissions section of the Governor’s website (http://
governor.ohio.gov).
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Section Meetings
All Board/Section meetings are open to the
public and anyone is welcome to attend.
Please contact the Board at (614) 466-3774
or board@otptat.ohio.gov to verify the
time and meeting location if you would

like to attend. The planned 2009 meetings
are scheduled for:

January 15
March 4
May 7
July 8
September 17

November 4

Contact the Board

Ohio OTPTAT Board, 77 South High Street, 16th Floor, Columbus, Ohio 43215-6108
Phone: (614) 466-3774 Fax: (614) 995-0816 Website: http://otptat.ohio.gov Email: board@otptat.ohio.gov




